The “Problem” of Raindrops on the Lens

The Shard in London

When I first came across with getting raindrops on my lens while taking pictures, I really did consider it a problem. When it happened, I thought to myself: “I have to wipe the lens, take another shot and hope for the best”. These days I’m much more open minded to this “problem” as I gradually realised that raindrops on the lens surface could potentially define the image instead of ruining it. So I thought I’d share some results here.

The first image at the top of the page is of The Shard. This is actually an interesting one as it sat in a folder for about a year or so before I took notice. Monochrome conversion actually brought out the raindrops and I thought this added emphasis made the image quite well.

“London Eye, Westminster Bridge, Traffic, Rain” – The second image below is of the London Eye with the drops combined with moving traffic in the foreground on Westminster Bridge.

London Eye, Westminster Bridge, Traffic, Rain

 

“Water in the Eye” – And this image below is from Iceland, where the conditions were really wet again. However, the wet glass on my lens combined with the fog added a lot of atmosphere to the image.

Water in the Eye

 

If you want to see these images in a larger size, click on the links below:

The Shard in London

London Eye, Westminster Bridge, Traffic, Rain

Water in the Eye

All images on this page are copyrighted by Arpad Lukacs

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © Do not use images without permission.

 

~ by arpadlukacs on May 28, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
